HELP!!! Hard Limeade

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BigAl

Reaction score
Trying to make a hard limeade for my wife and her friends. I've been brewing for 4 years have never had problem getting fermention to start. I went to local hbs store they suggested using lalvin 1118 for my yeast for this. So here is my reciepe as well as what I did.
10 cans limeade concentrate.
10 lbs cane sugar
4 gallons purified water'
Lalvin 1118 yeast.
5 campden tablets.
I combined the 10 cans of concentrate, 10 lbs of sugar and 3 gallons of water together inmy bottling bucket. I transfered this over into 5 gallon carboy droped 5 campden tablets in per instruction from lbs to kill any nasty that might be in sugar let sit for 30 hours then rehydrated yeast with 2 tbs of yeast nutrient. I added this to fermenter as well as 3 more tbs of nutrient and another pkg of lalvin 1118 yeast. Went to bed this was around 1 am got up at 8 and had all kinds of limeade form in airlock. Cleaned out airlock and when I got back home 12 hrs later I had no action in fermenter. I took my stirrer that hooks to drill and stirred this for 5 minutes.
and reattached air lock. Got up next morning still nothing as far as air lock. I restired again and didn't get any action again in 12 hours. I got up the next morning and stirred the limeade and added a pkg of nottingham yeast and now that it has been 2 days and I'm still not seeing anything I need HELP!!
What do I need to do to get fermention started.

Are you certain there are no preservatives in the Limeade?

I am drawing a blank here. Have you taken any gravity readings? What do they indicate? Is the vessel leaking, and hence not showing activity via the airlock? Just suggesting avenues of approach. What temperature?