Starter? We don't need no stinkin' starter!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hopsnort

Reaction score
Newbie here,

I visit a few homebrewing forums quite often, and one of the biggest complaints I read about is long lag times and supposedly "bad" yeast.

In ten years of homebrewing - first Wyeast smacks, now exclusively White Labs tubes - We've never done a starter and have never had a batch not ferment properly (cross myself three times and knock on wood).

But we always...

- Slowly bring the yeast vial to room temp. about 8 hours before pitching.
- Pitch when the wort is 72 - 75 degrees.
- Primary vessel is a 6 gallon carboy for a 5 gallon batch - lots of "aeration room".
- Aeration accomplished by vigorously rocking the carboy for 4 to 5 minutes.

Important note: We don't do high gravity brews. 3.5% to 5% is the norm.

FWIW,
Hopsnort

How do you find the White Labs compares with the Wyeast. I found Wyeast to be somewhat inconsistent, but my limited experience with White Labs (which I tried because of advice on this forum) has been 100% predictable. I suspect the problems with Wyeast were because of improper handling between Wyeast and brew day.

Being cheap, I always make a starter. I have had some samples that just wouldn't start, and I didn't lose a brew or have to resort to dry yeast. I just lost a few pennies on the cost of the starter, and the homebrew shop either refunded the cost of the yeast or replaced it.

I usually divide the original yeast into 2, then build up the volume for a week, and do two brews one week apart. I also use the yeast from each of the primaries to get a total of four brews out of each packet or tube.

-a.

Hopsnort said:
Newbie here,