Why make a starter when you can make a S(DME)aSH

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nufad

Reaction score
I'm new to brewing (almost a year), so I've come up with an easy way to combine the hassle of making a starter for each new batch of beer with learning about the flavour and aroma of different hops. It takes a little more planning, but I've found it invaluable to my homebrewing education. Instead of making a 1-2L starter for each batch, I make up a gallon of wort with a OG of 1.040 using DME, and add a single hop over a 20min boil to get a final IBU ~30. It ferments out in about a week, after which I cold crash and bottle. Not only do I get enough yeast for a new batch of beer, I also get to try out small batches (femtobrew? zeptobrew?) of different pale ales. So far I've made 1 gallon each of Magnum, Mt. Hood, Summit, and Galaxy hopped pale ales. Just thought I'd share - cheers!

This is some good ingenuity, I may have to adopt the technique. Are you fermenting in gallon jugs or 3 gal. Carboy perhaps? I have both just worried about 1 gallon blowoff. It happened to me with a big starter.

This is some good ingenuity, I may have to adopt the technique. Are you fermenting in gallon jugs or 3 gal. Carboy perhaps? I have both just worried about 1 gallon blowoff. It happened to me with a big starter.

I have two 1 gallon jugs that I use, and, depending on the yeast, I use a blow-off tube.