First All-Grain BIAB

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HackInBlack

Reaction score
Since I don't have the equipment for all-grain, or the means to buy the equipment yet, I am trying my first all-grain as a BIAB. I've read a lot of the threads on BIAB, but I have a question about the recipe in Beersmith.

When I enter it as an All-Grain recipe, I then select the Single Infusion, Full Body choice under Mash Profile. I then get a Mash In and Mash Out description. My question is this (as I am a total noob at all-grain terminology): when Beersmith tells me for Mash In to "add x qts. of water at y degrees" then has a step temp 10 degrees lower, does that mean I hit the grain with the initial water at y degrees then let it drop and hold it at the step temp for the allotted time? Thanks for answering a question that is probably obvious to most everyone else. :eek:

If you're doing true Aussie style full volume, no sparge , BIAB, you probably want to use Single Infusion, Full Body, No Mash Out.

I do a batch sparge, so I choose Single Infusion, Full Body, Batch Sparge and calculate my sparge water volume and temps myself