What are your mead plans for 2013?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bluespark

Reaction score
I'm new at brewing and pretty enthusiastic :) I have several projects going and have been planning more. I get very busy around April-November, so I have to keep my project amounts reasonable. So far I have :

-Wild mint methaglyn(picked down by the river)
-Strawberry rhubarb melomel( from my own organic garden)
-okanagan peach and or apricot melomel(farmers market)
- traditional, with local fireweed honey.
-pumpkin pie( with my own heirloom pumpkin)

Also maybe a Saskatoon melomel, depending on this years crop.

So, what are you planning?

I started my partial Bochet braggot already the first of this year. I have a couple of rice wines I want to try. And when I sample some of my projects from last year I will either duplicate or improve upon them.

Same as before...........make it up as I go along.

I don't really plan anything like that, I'm an opportunist when it comes to ingredients.

If I see something that catches my eye, then I'll have a think........

Starting my first batch of the year this weekend. A traditional with orange blossom honey. After that, whatever ends up sounding good.

Concord Pyment--started
Caramel Apple Mead--starting 1/12
Spiced Cuties Mead
Annual Raspberry Melomel
Annual JMAO--starting 1/12
Strawberry Melomel
Staghorn Sumac Mead
Pawpaw Mead
Mango Peach Mead
Lychee Mead
Lingonberry Mead

...who knows what else.

I have traditional going now with a little lemon in it, plan on trying to get my buddies in a big batch like 20 gallons or so, but don't know what kind yet. Definitely more cysers, and I have to do an experiment 1 gal with something wierd, or maybe just hops