Keg converted into a grill

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fusa

Reaction score
I've seen some kegs that were converted to a grill and was considering doing this myself. I was lucky to get a couple of kegs for $10 each this weekend, so I have one extra. I now have 4 of the sanke diptubes, and was considering using those as the legs. The keg would be cut in 1/2 lengthwise with a handle and two hinges attached. I have no welding experience so would prefer just drilling holes and bolting the parts on.

Would this be a feasible project? Does anyone have any experience doing this? Or should I just use the keg for other purposes?

I realize this might be a little off topic, but since lots of people here have experience converting kegs I hope its the appropriate forum.

I see no reason why you couldn't do something like this.

bigbaby.gif

I've never cut one in half lengthwise, but have heard they don't hold their shape.

Good luck, keep us informed.

I have an even better idea.

I'll trade you a Hoff Stevens Keg (barrel Shaped) for that extra Sanke. It should make a better grill because of the shape and has a side-bung hole in that you ought to be able to fit a flywheel on to control the smoke.

I've been trying to find a Sanke to turn into a Keggle for a while now. And also trying to unload this Hoff Steven's keg.

During college I painted at an apartment complex during the summers. One of the residents had a grill that was converted into a keg. It was on his deck, so I couldn't get a close view, but from a distance it looked very nice. I've been considering this project for a while, and after getting the keg for cheap, its become more of a possibility.