The "Economy" of Homebrewing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

enohcs

Reaction score
So tonight I couldn't sleep because I was trying to determine just how economical homebrewing really is. I'm not good at doing math in my head so I came to my computer (after checking on my primary...wo hooo...fermentation is flying after about 6 hours), opened up excel and punched in a few numbers.

Pardon the general assumptions

Assume you only buy 12oz bottles from the liquor store, at a price of $1.00/bottle.
There are 128 fluid ounces in a gallon, thus 640 in 5 gallons, thus 5 gallons yields ~53 12oz bottles, thus the cost of 53 12oz bottles of beer from the liquor store is $53.
Assume the average cost of ingredients for a 5 gallon batch of homebrew is $25.
Your savings per 5gal batch: $28!!!! Meaning you only pay $0.48/12oz bottle of homebrew.

NOW

My all grain setup cost me ~$600.
($600 setup)/($28 savings per 5gal batch) = ~21.5 5gal batches.
Meaning I have to brew 107.5 gallons of beer in order to break even.
Not bad...I could clear that in a year.

However, one could say that the time of a person who makes $50K/year is worth ~$25/hour...once we figure this into the equation all economy goes right out the window.

In conclusion...It's a good thing we do this for fun :mug:

Even though I'm really new to this hobby and only have roughly $300 invested I was given a nice piece of advise from a homebrewer I know when I wanted to start out. 'Don't go into homebrewing expecting to save money on beer. ' I wasn't under that assumption but i think it's a pretty good statement. Just looking around there is ALWAYS some piece of equipment we want to buy or upgrade some of our old stuff. Like you said, good thing we do this for fun. :mug: