Taking the plunge

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Martlet

Reaction score
I've been kicking around giving home brewing a try for a few years now. I've been reading up as best as I can, but it's hard when I really don't understand much of it. I finally signed up on the website, when I compiled a few questions.

1. I've read the suggested starter kits, but I don't know why they're suggested. It seems like many of them need other items. I'm not as worried about cost, within reason. Are there any kits that would give me everything I need to increase my chances of success?

2. howtobrew suggests fermentation of 65 to 70 degrees, if I understand it correctly. In the winter, my house is between 52 and 65 degrees, depending on time of day and if anyone is home. Is this a problem? If so, how do other people deal with this?

As long as my temperature isn't an issue that can't be fixed, and I can find a good starter kit, I think I'm ready to give it a shot. Any advice or links to kits is greatly appreciated!

It sounds like you're all set man. The things that you're worrying about, all have simple solutions that you can learn here.

As far as being successful, if you know how to wash dishes and follow a recipe, you can be a good homebrewer. Go for it man:mug:

I've been kicking around giving home brewing a try for a few years now. I've been reading up as best as I can, but it's hard when I really don't understand much of it. I finally signed up on the website, when I compiled a few questions.

1. I've read the suggested starter kits, but I don't know why they're suggested. It seems like many of them need other items. I'm not as worried about cost, within reason. Are there any kits that would give me everything I need to increase my chances of success?