Is it to early to start Kegging?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wildrebel

Reaction score
I started brewing beer about a month ago and only have three partial boil extracts under my belt. I have a mini refrigerator and Im thinking about converting it to a kegerator. Is it too early to start kegging my beer? Should I wait till later on down the road when I move into AG?

Start kegging whenever you feel like you are likely to stay with the hobby long enough to warrant the cost of buying the kegs, co2 tank, regulator, etc.

I started out kegging. I didn't bottle a batch till almost a year after I started brewing.

Absolutely not too early. I've never bottled a batch of beer. Started with5L minikegs. Tossed them after the tap broke the third time. Bought a fridge and converted it to a kegger.

The sooner you start, the better.
You will enjoy the beer a lot more when it's coming out of a keg and you didn't have to deal with all those bottles.

I had a kegerator when I started brewing a year ago. Converted it to handle homebrew and haven't bottled one batch either. (Have made the we no need no stinking beer gun to bottle some to take to parties and such.)

So easy. Right from the primary after 2-3 weeks, into the keg, blast of co2 to purge the air, age. When I'm in need of a keg, into fridge. What could be more simpler?

Yes it is too early, you need to have at least one year of brewing experience to be able to handle the complexities of a kegging system...ha, just kidding! Bottling is for the birds, midwest supplies has what is in my opinion the best kegging system. 200 bucks gets you 2 kegs, a new tank, a dual regulator, and all the fittings and picnic taps.

Keg it, drink it, stop waiting for the corn sugar to do its thing!