Strong Medicine taste & WL 830

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wellshooter

Reaction score
Background: Ok, I guess I'm not a novice since I have brewed 115 gallons in 2009. I am a kit brewer and the last 7 or 8 brews have been mini mash kits from AHS. I have always used Iodophor for sanitation and rinsed with tap water. My favorite so far is the AHS Premium lager kit and I have brewed that one 8 times. It always turns out great. The last 5 of these I used WL 840 slants that I had frozen using the Country Wines "Yeast Bank". I have two carboys of that in my lager chamber right now, and haven't had a chance to taste them.
My slant procedure is to make a starter with light DME and collect part of the slant for freezing instead of washing the yeast in the carboy.

To the problem: Last night I tapped my fresh keg of North German Pilsner that had been brewed with the same procedures (mini mash from AHS) and nearly choked. The medicine taste was so strong that I still remember it well this morning. I also have a keg of AHS Amber Bock mini mash that has a strong cinammon taste. I had never made either of these brews before. After reviewing the ingredients and procedures, the only common denominator I can find is the use of WL 830 yeast. The Amber Bock was made from a fresh vial and the German Pilsner was made from a slant off that starter.

I guess my questions are: Did I somehow infect the original starter and carry it over to the second brew? (this is where I'm leaning). Is there any chance the beer will get better (4th week)? Is a thorough review of my procedures in order?