Grapefruit Pale Ale Recipe - Comments?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jeffdill

Reaction score
I'm very new to recipe creation so I'm hoping I could get some comments on my recipe as far as if the extract and specialty grains amounts look good, along with the hop schedule.

I had recently tried the Southern Tier Pale Ale and absolutely loved it. I want a very drinkable American Pale Ale with strong floral and grapefruit tones. Here's what I threw together:

Recipe: Grapefruit Pale Ale
Brewer: Jeff Dillaman
Style: American Pale Ale
TYPE: Extract
Taste: (35.0)

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Batch Size: 5.00 gal
Boil Size: 3.25 gal
Estimated OG: 1.051 SG
Estimated Color: 10.1 SRM
Estimated IBU: 45.7 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: - %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amount Item Type % or IBU
3.00 lb Light Dry Extract (8.0 SRM) Dry Extract 41.10 %
3.30 lb Pale Liquid Extract (8.0 SRM) Extract 45.21 %
0.50 lb Cara-Pils/Dextrine (2.0 SRM) Grain 6.85 %
0.50 lb Caramel/Crystal Malt - 60L (60.0 SRM) Grain 6.85 %
1.00 oz Simcoe [13.00 %] (60 min) Hops 34.7 IBU
0.50 oz Cascade [5.50 %] (30 min) Hops 5.6 IBU
1.00 oz Cascade [5.50 %] (10 min) Hops 5.3 IBU
0.50 oz Cascade [5.50 %] (0 min) Hops -
0.50 oz Amarillo Gold [8.50 %] (0 min) Hops -
0.25 tsp Irish Moss (Boil 10.0 min) Misc
1 Pkgs Safale US-05 (Fermentis) Yeast-Ale

I had read somewhere that Southern Tier uses just Simcoe and Cascade in their Pale Ale, but I'm not sure of the authenticity of that source. People seem to really like Amarillo around here so I thought it could be good to throw that in there for aroma too.

If you want flavor, do the flameout hop additions. For aroma, dry hopping is crucial. I'd add the amarillo as a dry hop.

Southern Tier said:
Pale