show mead

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

motobrewer

I'm no atheist scientist, but...
Reaction score
made my first mead about 1.5 months ago. just a straight show mead using a local honey. 1.107 OG, gravity about two weeks ago was 1.010.

it tastes like....honey flavored everclear, lol. is that normal at this stage?

i racked to secondary and was planning on letting it sit awhile, total 1-2 years. is bulk age preferred or bottle age?

it tastes like....honey flavored everclear, lol. is that normal at this stage?

Yep, that sounds like young mead - especially if the fermentation temp was a little high. If you give us the recipe details, we may be able to say more.

Bulk vs. bottle aging has not been rigorously tested. I think you can age either way. I do bulk aging because I don't want to waste time bottling something until I'm sure it is going to be good.

Bulk vs. bottle aging has not been rigorously tested. I think you can age either way. I do bulk aging because I don't want to waste time bottling something until I'm sure it is going to be good.[/QUOTE said:
DITTO! Bulk age and rack at least, twice.

I am no mead pro, but with the few batches I have made I can attest to something magical happening after 9+ months.

I tend to prefer extended bottle conditioning, but only because I lack the additional primary fermenters to keep one tied up for that long. I had good results with my JOAM in bottles for aging.

recipe was just 14 pounds of honey, enough water get 1.108 or so. D47, staggered nutrient addition during first 3 days. aerated like crazy as well.

basement was at 62F. that's all the temp control I had. bubbled pretty consistently for a good 4 weeks

Yep, you probably just have young mead. Age will transform it into something very different.