Why does my beer taste like cider?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nate0075

Reaction score
OK so Ive brewed about a dozen mini mashes so Im not a total noob, but might as well be! I have a problem with my beer turning out with a cidery taste. Example, Ive tried a New Castle clone mini mash, a "Double Engine" from Belgium, and a summer ale. Its strange trying to describe a taste on a thread, but its essentially sweeter than it should be and has a bitter finish like a cider. I know this is typically associated with either a sanitation issue or bottling too soon. Or Ive even been told that if I bottle with DME rather than priming sugar, this would fix it. Ive gone OVER the top with sanitation and waited 4 weeks to bottle. This LAST batch of the Belgian was awful and I was the most careful. So what am I missing? Do I still just have a hole in my sanitation process?

how long have you let it sit in the bottle also did you individually prime the bottles or prime the whole batch then bottle it? For my beers with sanitation if it was my fault it would have a bad off taste not a sweet off taste. Hoepfully the experts on here can answer because I would like to know also. Also put your recipe on here of how it was made becasue there going to ask to try and pinpoint the problem.

Good call, I should probably start at the top!

2.5lbs Belgian 2row Pils
4oz Belgian Aromatic
4oz Belgian Biscuit
4oz German Vienna

steeped in bag for 90 minutes
Sparged grains and boiled with :

6.5lbs M&F extra light DME
1/2 lb of Belgian Candy sugar
2 ounces Cascade

90 minute boil

added Irish Moss and 1/2 ounce of Goldings for final 15 minutes

After done, placed kettle in ice bath, dropped to 75 in about 15 minutes. Pitched Belgian Abby Yeast.