barrel Ageing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MikeFlynn74

Reaction score
So the 999 thread got me thinking- It does hurt incase you were curious.

I want to do a BW and age it in a barrel. Do I barrel it after primary? Do I ferment in the barrel? How long can and should I age?

I'd primary as you normally would and secondary in the barrel. As far as how long, it really depends on the size of the barrel. If you have a 60 gallon wine or bourbon barrel, I'd go 6 months to a year. I did 6 months in a 15.5 gallon wine barrel for Grapes of Wrath which was just about right. As a general rule, the smaller the barrel, the greater surface to liquid ratio and the shorter the time in that barrel to achieve your desired oakiness.

I have no experience with barrel aging, but I would guess for a nice hefty barleywine 6 months would be about right.

Can't you achieve simiar results by using a glass carboy + toasted planks or cubes? I believe some wineries/commercial establishments are going to SS w/ wood pieces for sanitation, cost, and efficiency.

While a barrel sounds way neato, I would hate to lose a year-old brew to a funky barrel bug or crack or something...

BTW just tried my oaked IPA where I used 1 ounce dark toasted cubes for 4 weeks in secondary. It was ... oaky (but quite tasty) :)