Early retirement?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kass_Brauhaus

Reaction score
Rambling time:

I am a PhD student. I've been in university since 2002, and I'm getting damn sick of it. I'm looking for part time work to change it up a little, but no luck so far (merchant mariner).

Can I quit and go straight to retirement? Can somebody tell me about a job where I can putter in a garage or woodworking shop all day? I'd start a brewpub but 1. no capital, 2. they're a dime-a-dozen in Denver, 3. I'm not that good a brewer.

Ok, phew. I'm done.

I had two jobs while I was in grad school (MSEE):

1) Lumber yard at the big orange box. I drove forklifts, used power tools, stacked wood, and helped folks with their construction projects. It was actually a lot of fun and the pay was better than any other retail I could find. The only downside was closing...you're there till midnight or later many nights which sucked when you had to be at school at 0700 for

2) Research/Teaching assistant. I taught freshman engineering labs and graded papers 5-10 hours per week. 15-20 hours per week I basically putteres about with DSP boards making them do fun stuff to work into lab assignments for a project my boss was heading up.

I didn't sleep much for a couple of years :fro:

I feel your pain I would much rather be at home making/ Drinking beer or something else but If I do that then I have to give up lots of other things like the nice TV/ Cars/ House/ food... sadly no one will pay me enough to quit a good paying computer job with good benefits to be a homebody...but I if I find some one to do it I will se how many opneins the have! :tank: