Aging commercial beers

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mccann51

Reaction score
I recently decided I'm going to start aging some of my favorite big commercial beers. That said, I'm not totally sure of the point other than having some good beers around if the apocalypse comes. The beers I'm putting aside are all malty ~10%ers (none hoppy of course), but they're all delicious now, so I'm curious as to how they'll improve or change. For those who buy beer to age, what is the biggest draw to doing so? What kinds of organoleptic changes should I expect from my humble stash? Any criteria other than ~10% ABV and malt-emphasized that I should keep in mind for squirreling-away beer?

I'm no expert on aging as I don't have a ton of experience myself, but I would think that any "big" beer would improve with age, at least up to a point. I myself have put away a few beers to see how they are down the road, a couple Belgian Tripels & some Barleywines. I don't know if 10% is the magic number, I would think that even slightly smaller beers (like 8% and up) would also improve for at least a couple years.

I'll let someone with more knowledge of the science of aging answer your question though.

I age most beers 9% and higher and any sour beers. Aging the beer long periods of time brings out complexity in it that isn't in a fresh bottle. The best way i can describe it was a comparison i did between 2 different vintages of dfh old school barleywine. I had a 2011 bottle and a 2003. The 2011 just tasted genericly malty sweet and had a boozy kick to it. the 2003 on the other hand had almost no alcohol bite to it and i could taste an array of new and specific flavors (caramel, figs, dates, toffee). pretty incredible if you're patient