straining wort

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

J-bone

Reaction score
I'm a newbie. Made my first batch on Saturday Dec 1st. India Pale Ale from a kit, plus extra hops for more bitter. After it cooled down enough to add to the Carboy, I began quickly pouring it in. Then realized there was a ton of sediment, and that I should probably be straining it the whole time. I strained the last 1/4 of it, but there is an inch and a half of hops in the bottom of the Carboy. Is this ruining my beer?
Should I siphon it into another Carboy so that the hops aren't steeping way too much bitter into my brew? Or should I leave it the way it is to avoid upsetting the yeast or running the risk of contaminating my batch. There is good foam happening in the Carboy so far. I'm worried about undrinkable bitter beer.
Thanks
J-bone

this question. Did my very first batch on Saturday. I DID use a funnel which had a strainer. I was amazed how much junk was in the wort. It took a long time to strain the entire 1.5 gallons of wort into the carboy...

You will be fine. I have read several articles that point out that leaving hop residue in the primary or secondary actually helps the beer to clear. You can strain it going into your bottling bucket no problem, just dont get any splashing or bubbles.

There sure are a lot of bones in this thread... not sure if that's good or bad :drunk:

Seriously though, you'll be fine. Anything that didn't get strained will settle to the bottom and you'll siphon off the top of it when you rack to secondary, leaving almost all of it behind.

we still had about half gallon of water that needed to be added to make 5 gallons, so we poured the water through the accumulated sludge that was in the screened funnel....

TheBone said: