To bottle, or not to bottle: that is the question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

spbrewer

Reaction score
Hi,

Yet another newbie here who desperately needs help.

I'm trying to make a Peach Wheat beer as described here https://www.homebrewtalk.com/f75/peach-wheat-82544/
That was on July 19. The difference in my recipe was yeast - I used White Labs WLP320 American Hefeweizen. Fermentation started very healthy and even blew airlock next evening.

As it says in the original recipe, after ten days I decided to rake into secondary on top of peach puree. But stupid me I have never checked the gravity. After raking and cleaning primary fermenter (ie throwing away yeast cake) I have realized about gravity and checked it (tried to have as less puree in a thief as possible) - it was 1.020. Too high I thought and sprinkled Safebrew WB-06 dry yeast in an attempt to continue fermentation. Unfortunately nothing much happened - no life in the carboy. Probably 1.020 was too low for a brand new yeast to start working.

Checked the gravity today, it is about 1.018, but maybe its only due to the fact that puree had enough time to settle and now my measurement is more precise.

My question is - should I keep it in the carboy (although I don't believe that any fermentation is still happening), or should I add corn sugar and bottle ?
Any other alternatives ?