First Time Brewing - White Sediment on the Bottom

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rohovie

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am new to this form, I've been trying to read a lot of the fourms on the site to learn as much as I can. I started my first batch tonight, I went with the Barons - Canadian Pilsner.

I added the water to the premixed wort and the bentonite in the primary fermenter and mixed it up. I added the yeast and the hops then went upstairs to wash off some equipment. When I came back downstairs I noticed a white 'sediment' in the bottom of the primary. (As seen in the picture below). Is this normal? And what is it?

Picture1280.jpg

Thanks in advance,
MIke

That thar is money in the bank. You just turned $5.00 worth of yeast into $20 worth of yeast.

Siphon that white gold off into a sanitized jar and use/reuse/reuse/reuse...

I haven't purchase yeast in nearly 7 months. :D

Yeast you say, I didnt think it would settle to the bottom so quickly. Will it grow from there? Or stay about the same ammount? How do I reuse it? After I transfer it to my secondary? Add the wort and water to that?

Also, my hops floated to the top, is that susposed to happen?

Thanks, and sorry for all of the stupid questions.

I have always used "ale pails" for fermentation, and I think that's a good thing since I can't see inside it! Leave it alone at a nice 65-68 degrees and it'll know what to do!

I've never heard of using bentonite before with beer- your kit must have had you do that, I assume. Bentonite is a clearing agent made from clay that I use occasionally with wine. I wonder if that's why you have so much trub right away, but I guess it really doesn't matter. The yeast should get going just fine.