American Wheat Recipe - How's it look

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cha ngo

Reaction score
Not the sexiest recipe ever. I am trying to reproduce something like Widmer. What am I missing here? Planning a single infusion mash at around 151F and a batch sparge. I've never used wheat malt before, so let me know if this is headed for disaster please.

Wheat To Foam over

Recipe Wheat To Foam over Style American Wheat or Rye Beer
Brewer John Batch 20.00 gal
Mashed

Recipe Characteristics
Recipe Gravity 1.051 OG Estimated FG 1.013 FG
Recipe Bitterness 21 IBU Alcohol by Volume 5.1%
Recipe Color 5° SRM Alcohol by Weight 4.0%

Ingredients
Quantity Grain Use
20.00 lb American two-row mashed
18.00 lb American wheat mashed
1.00 lb Crystal 20L mashed

Quantity Hop Form Time
2.00 oz Cascade whole 30 minutes
2.00 oz Cascade whole 60 minutes

Quantity Misc Notes
4.00 unit American Ale yeast package

Recipe Notes

yeast is Safale-56

I think it looks pretty good. With that much wheat you might want a lb or 2 of rice hulls so you do not get a stuck sparge.
The only thing you might want to change is the yeast. I think wyeast 1010 will get you closer to Widmer. Brew it and then tweak the recipe to your liking.

Yeah, you might want to go with an American Hefeweizen Yeast. White Labs WLP-320 is the Widmer Strain.

When I did my Honey Wheat recipe, I was kind of going for a Widmer type beer.

The recipe is in my sig, and is really easy.

Brewsmith is right--WLP320 is perfect for that beer, and IS the Widmer strain.

Your recipe looks pretty good--with all of that malt though, you may want to up the crystal a tiny bit. Right now it equats to .25 lbs per 5 gallons, which isn't very much. You could go up to .5 lbs per 5 gallons and still be good to go.