SG going the wrong way

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JasontheBeaver

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I'm sure this has been addressed but I must be searching for the wrong keywords.
I made a 6 gal batch of strawberry wine last Wednesday.
Here's the ingredients:
17.5 lbs fresh hood strawberries
12.5 lbs table sugar
5 gals water
5 tsp acid blend
5 tsp pectin enzyme
1.25 tsp grape tannin
Yeast: CR51 with nutrient

The OG was 1.070 (which I thought was low). I've stirred it every day for 5 days now and took another gravity reading this morning and it's at 1.084 now. :confused:
This is my first fresh fruit wine so I'm still a rookie and gaining experience. Here's my thinking of why the SG is going the opposite direction from what I expected. The sugars in the berries are dissolving into the wine. Is this correct?
I put the berries in a giant nylon bag and mashed the hell outta them with a potato masher, and I also made sure the 12.5 lbs of sugar were fully dissolved.***(EDIT: We now know that this was untrue, I did not fully dissolve the sugar)
I have noticed the berry must in the bag getting lighter and reduced in volume every day when I stir it.

Any feed back from the experienced ones? I'm not really worried about the wine but now I'm not sure about calculating ABV when it's done.

The only thing I can think of is that it wasn't mixed up properly when you took your original reading of 1.070 (even though you said it was), and all of the sugars weren't dissolved. Since you've been stirring since then, they'd likely be dissolved now. You didn't take either of these readings at any sort of extreme temperature, did you? Both relatively the same temperature?