coffee, Coffee, COFFEE!!!!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kaazmar

Reaction score
I want to make a silky Coffee Stout and am trying to piece together some recipes. I've heard suggestions of adding maltodextrin at the end of the boil for a silkier mouthfeel, is this a good idea?

I'm planning on using a sweet stout base, should I add lactose? If so, how much?

Also, I've heard of boiling and dissolving the grounds right into the wort, adding fresh brewed pots of coffee, adding espresso shots, etc...what is the best way to impart a distinct coffee flavor to a stout without over/underdoing it?

Thanks!
:rockin:
J

Kaazmar, great minds think alike, I just brewed a dark sweet stout this past weekend and am going to add some coffee to it soon. I'm a rookie to home brewing but after searching and reading a dozen or so coffe recipes it seems that cold steeping the grounds for 24 hours gives good results without as much bitterness that hot brewed coffee adds to the beer. I'm going to cold steep at room temp two cups of coffee for 24 hrs. and then add it to the secondary to condition for about a week or so. There are many ways to do it but this way seemed like it would deliver the cleanest coffee taste and that's what my LHBS guy recommended. I also added 2 ounces of semi sweet bakers chocolate to the wort with the malt, maltodextrin, and milk sugar that came with the kit. I'm attempting to make a mocha stout, we'll see what happens. Just remembered that a couple recipes mentioned that if coffee is added to the wort that it should be added during the last 10 minutes of the boil. This might be a safe bet also. Let me know what you end up doing and how things turn out. I'll do the same. Happy Brewing. :mug: