HELP - specific gravity too low

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

diehl33

Reaction score
I've done a handful of kit extracts successfully. This is my first attempt at an original recipe. I used the following grains/extract for a sweetish stout. I calculated the SG on 2 online calculators as 1.054 and 1.059. Unfortunately, I got a much lower reading and have no clue why/how.

12oz Crystal 60L - 0.75lbs
8oz Chocolate malt - 0.5lbs
8oz Flaked Barley - 0.5lbs
4oz Roasted Barley - 0.25lbs
4oz Black Malt - 0.25lbs
6lb Coopers Light LME - 6lbs

5 gallons

I also added .75lbs lactose and .75oz hops (E Kent Goldings) for the full 60-minute boil.

My hydrometer says 1.036. I have no idea why. Thoughts??

Also, is there anything I can do at this point? Add some more LME?

Thanks for any help. I'm at a loss.

Are you sure your hydrometer is accurate? I would check it against room temperature water to verify. I'd be willing to bet it isn't. Also, you didn't specify in your post, but make sure you take a reading of wort at room temp, or at least correct it if you take it somewhat warm.

Hydrometer (new one, I dropped my other one) is off a bit - .996 in water at room temp. I left the hydrometer in the wort a while so it was close to room temp. Both could explain a tiny amount, but I'm still at or below 1.040. Can't figure this one out. The LME alone should give an OG of 1.040 or a shade higher. Thanks for the tip. I'm at a loss here.

We get this question 3-4 times every day, so you're not alone. And in reality, nothing's wrong.