Less Hops in full boil?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DocBob

Reaction score
I'm a newbie and am brewing my second batch toady.
I understand when boiling the full 5 gallons, you are supposed to reduce the hops. If the recipe calls for a 2 gallon boil, how much should I reduce the hops for a full 5 gallon boil?
Thanks in advance.

I wouldn't reduce the hops at all. Just watch the timing for bittering--last minute or so.

DocBob said:
I understand when boiling the full 5 gallons, you are supposed to reduce the hops. If the recipe calls for a 2 gallon boil, how much should I reduce the hops for a full 5 gallon boil?
A precise answer to that question depends on the OG of your wort...your utilization at 5 gallons will be much greater than at two, but exactly how much depends on the SG. Post that here, or you can use beer recipator to figure it out.

A rough rule of thumb would be to cut the bittering hops (60 minutes) in half and keep the flavor and aroma hops the same. A more exact calculation would be 60% as much bittering and flavor hops and the same amount of aroma hops. As EP says, the exact amounts depend on OG and timing.

Bear in mind that utilization only matters for total bittering. OG doesn't impact flavor and aroma levels.

Thanks for the input. And sorry, I forgot to mention the beer...it's an Enlish Brown Ale. The recipe says the O.G. should be 1.040-1.048.

A rough rule of thumb would be to cut the bittering hops (60 minutes) in half and keep the flavor and aroma hops the same. A more exact calculation would be 60% as much bittering and flavor hops and the same amount of aroma hops. As EP says, the exact amounts depend on OG and timing.