Rapid Cooling and Late Hop Addition Utilization

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

permo

Reaction score
I don't have a wort chiller, instead I immerse my brewpot in a cold water bath for about an hour after flameout to get mine down below 70 degrees. I am wondering if anybody has any insight on how this slower cool down, and thus longer warm steep time, could effect aroma hop utilization and aroma levels in the finished beer. I would assume having them steep in the warmer wort longer would alow for more of the aroma and flavor to be introduced to the wort, but hey I am no expert.

Are you stirring the wort while it is cooling? Before I made my CFC, my ice baths used to take about 20 min tops. Stir it, but ensure that you do not aerate the hot wort by splashing it.
As to your question on the time affecting your wort, I just read somewhere about an Aussie way of letting the wort naturally cool overnight. In fact the guy who tested it said it might be good up to a week or maybe two as he was using the last bit of the wort to whip up a "real starter" as he called it. I am sure that leaving your wort to cool overtime before pitching your yeasties all depends on the big "S". Sanitation. Good luck and try and brewgle that aussie cooling technique. :mug:

I only stir the wort once, right when i put in the bath. This is so my trub settles in the middle of the pot, then I siphon to fermenter from around the sides. Maybe I will let one cool overnight and see what happens. SWMBO would surely notice a shiny new IWC in my brew room!

BTW, I don't use ice baths, just recirc 50-60 degree water from the tap.

2 bags of ice from the cornerstore is what I use. Runs me about a buck fiddy. That way I dont use up all SWMBO's ice in the food fridge.