Campden tablets

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PIGMAN

Reaction score
After reading all the posts regarding chloramine and chlorine possibly ruining beer, I went to my LHBS to purchase campden tablets. I was advised by the owner that I could be creating a worse problem by using the tablets because although the chloramine and chlorine would be neutralized, there could very well be an excess amount of sulfites remaining in the wort, which could have a negative impact on the yeast. I wound up using RO water with the minerals added back,(Nestle). I have no scientific background to agree or disagree with the gentleman, but I'm sure there are posters on this forum that do. I'd be interested to hear their input.:mug:

I've used a campden tablet for my last few batches of beer, I use city water for all my brews. No issues thus far, the yeast have been doing just fine. No off flavors either.

No problems here. You only need 1 tablet for 20 gallons of water. I split mine into pieces to accomodate for a smaller batch size.

If your local water uses chlorine, you don't really need them. Just leave your brew water out overnight and it will evaporate. This is one of the reasons municipal water systems have been switching to chloramines because chlorine proves to be too unstable in open air.

No problems here. You only need 1 tablet for 20 gallons of water. I split mine into pieces to accomodate for a smaller batch size.

If your local water uses chlorine, you don't really need them. Just leave your brew water out overnight and it will evaporate. This is one of the reasons municipal water systems have been switching to chloramines because chlorine proves to be too unstable in open air.