pitching yeast before bottling?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dhanley1

Reaction score
Im sure this is a common question but you will have to forgive me as i am new at this. I am just curious as to which circumstances call for more yeast before bottling. MY beer is becoming more clear due to the yeast dropping out of it id imagine and i am just wondering if i should be worried about the amount of yeast in the beer for carbonation.

It's pretty rare that you would need to. You might consider it on a high gravity beer like a barleywine that has aged for many months, or some folks pitch more yeast after lagering.

I just brewed a big beer. OG 1.1 and FG 1.02.

I bottled it using just priming sugar, and it came out flat.

New to me too about pitching yeast at bottling.
If brewing big beer, how much yeast should be pitched and when? Day if bottling?
All the yeast dropped out, could there still be ferment able sugars left behind or does it only drop out after eating all the sugar available?

FlecksBrewHouse said:
I just brewed a big beer. OG 1.1 and FG 1.02.

I bottled it using just priming sugar, and it came out flat.

New to me too about pitching yeast at bottling.
If brewing big beer, how much yeast should be pitched and when? Day if bottling?
All the yeast dropped out, could there still be ferment able sugars left behind or does it only drop out after eating all the sugar available?

Big beers take much longer to carb. Could take several months! Some advocate adding the tiniest pinch of yeast just prior to bottling to ensure viable yeast for carbing, but this isn't common unless big, long aged beers.

Beers that have clearer/floculated, still have plenty of yeast in them to bottle carb.