Proper Gravity Testing Techniques?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TronCarter

Reaction score
I am just getting into wine making and would like some advice on gravity testing. I see that hygrometers and refractometers are available but don't know which one to choose. If I get a hygrometer and test jar, what is the proper way to use it? What do you do with the test wine you removed from the carboy?

Any help is appreciated.

Tron

Hey Tron. The biggest issue is of cost. A decent hydrometer will run you about $12-$25 and a decent refractometer will be anywhere from $50 - $120 (the difference being temperature compensation) and up to $300 for the digital models.

The biggest difference is sample size, since you won't need to cool your must like brewers need to cool the wort. Basically, a hydrometer needs a sample sufficient to float in and a refractometer just needs a couple drops and a light source to look at. I have to say, after having done the wine thing for some time and now into the beer thing, the refractometer is much easier, but the potential for error in the sample selection is a lot higher since you're testing a much smaller sample. Refractometers also are calibrated to Brix, which would require conversion to SG - which is easy. The small sample size is much more useful for tracking fermentation progress, which is also a benefit for a long wine fermentation and tracking the proper time to rack into secondary.