Any tips for night brewing?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Soulive

Reaction score
I have to brew outside in the dark tomorrow night, which I've never done before. Is there anything I need to keep in mind? Boil overs aren't going to be an issue. I have to admit I won't be comfortable not being able to see everything, but its either that or no beer...

Get a work light.... don't trip over the burner.. umm... dont freeze? Its supposed to be 22° tonight, 25° tomorrow night and snow.

I brew outside at night much of the time. Its not any different from brewing during the day, really. I have pretty good lights on my deck so I can see everything. I do find that a small flashlight will help me read the thermometer. After the boil I take my pot inside to cool, transfer to primary, and pitch.

I usually wait until the morning to dump the spent grains in the compost pile. Its pretty dark and spooky in my yard at night...:drunk:

Let the neighbors know what you are doing, serious questions might arise if they see you standing over a boiling cauldron after midnight.

Seriously, I can't think of anything other than having plenty of light and keeping warm which were already mentioned.

Stop at a sporting goods store and pick up a headlight. It will attach right to the brim of your cap.

I will probably get the work light going since there are no other lights. I also have the head light already from hiking/camping. Staying warm shouldn't be an issue. I was just wondering how important it is to be able to see everything...

McKBrew said:
Let the neighbors know what you are doing, serious questions might arise if they see you standing over a boiling cauldron after midnight.

It may be more fun to let them wonder what the hell is going on :p