Irish Red Ale and Biscuit malt

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sh00t

Reaction score
I'm going for an irish red ale but not sure why i added the 2 ounces of biscuit malt.... I think it was one of those things that I wanted to try some of it in something... I've never used it before, anyone have any thoughts on its addition? Or is there even enough there to add anything noticeable?

Briess Golden Light Liquid Extract - Exact Amount 0102229 6 lb
Briess 2 Row Caramel40 0.75 lb
Special B 0101491 0.125 lb
---- Biscuit 0101493 0.125 lb
Briess Roasted Barley 0.125 lb
Fuggles Pellets, UK - Aroma/Flavor Hop 3.6% AA 1 oz
Cascade Pellets - Aroma/Flavor Hop 5.9% AA 1 oz

I dunno. I've got a recipe that uses 8 oz, and it gives a slight pie-crustiness to the flavor. I don't think I would notice the amount you are adding.

The beer should be fine, let us know how it turns out.

I would suspect the biscuit is more for color than taste, but 2oz def seems light. What were the other grains. The usual suspects (aside from base grains) would be Special B, Victory, Roasted Barley....

Briess Golden Light Liquid Extract - 6 lb

What were the other grains.

Briess Golden Light Liquid Extract - Exact Amount 0102229 6 lb
Fuggles Pellets, UK - Aroma/Flavor Hop 3.6% AA 1 oz
Cascade Pellets - Aroma/Flavor Hop 5.9% AA 1 oz

Ahh derp.

That looks like a good recipe, man. You will enjoy it.

That's basically what I do for mine which I've made about a dozen times. It calls for .25lbs special b, but looks like you're just replacing half that with biscuit. Both pretty much add the same nutty and biscuit type flavor, the Special B is ~50L and biscuit is ~25L

fwiw, i now double my roasted barley to .25 lbs most of the time, and i pitch pacman yeast. Its a crowd pleaser.