straining hops

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Evan

Reaction score
i have leaf hops in my secondary for my IPA, and i've never dry hopped before. i'm bottling tonight or tomorrow morning. i have some extra bags i use to steep grains with, will that work around the end of my syphin (sp?)...considering i steralize (sp?) it (maybe boil it for a while?!?!). thanks in advance!

just going to bump this...i want to bottle soon haha

Evan said:
i have leaf hops in my secondary for my IPA, and i've never dry hopped before. i'm bottling tonight or tomorrow morning. i have some extra bags i use to steep grains with, will that work around the end of my syphin (sp?)...considering i steralize (sp?) it (maybe boil it for a while?!?!). thanks in advance!

I'm fairly new at this also and this is probably no help to you right now, but I bagged my hops before dry hopping for this very reason. I sanitized a muslin bag and some fishing line as well as a couple of marbles for added weight to sink the bag. I made sure it wasn't too big to fit through or to "remove" (it swells) from the bottle mouth/neck. Then I sent it in making sure to wet the hops.

I have read here someone placing a bag over the tube end as you have suggested. make sure you sanitize it. Soak it in sanitizer first. Otherwise, siphon carefully, clean the cane....siphon carefully some more ans then clean again...etc etc.

cool thanks. i asked the question before if its best to put it in a bag or not...the swelling up is what stopped me. so you've had luck with using a bag huh. maybe next time. thanks!

Evan said:
cool thanks. i asked the question before if its best to put it in a bag or not...the swelling up is what stopped me. so you've had luck with using a bag huh. maybe next time. thanks!