Calcium levels effected by mash?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dstar26t

If it's worth doing, it's worth overdoing
Reaction score
I read in a post on another board (second and last paragraph here) that the grain in the mash adds 50ppm calcium and that there's a 50% loss of calcium in the wort leaving the mash. Anyone else heard of this? If it's true or possible, adding a little extra calcium to my water additions in the boil may be necessary.

I adjust my water depending on style. If my adjustments are changing because the grain contributes 50ppm but then soaks up 50%, I'll have to add extra gypsum/chalk to the boil to compensate depending on the style.

Anyone heard of this? I can't take one reference and use it as gospel.

Course, I'm just a noob, but to me it makes no sense. If the style requires a certain amount of calcium then that will be in the water going into the mash (where the Ca2+ can affect the pH and profile of the mash etc). I have never heard of anyone adjusting the levels of minerals AFTER the mash. If the grain soak it up, well, the grain soak it up. That must be part of the style too.

Typically there are 2 additions. One in the mash just after dough-in and one in the boil to compensate for all the sparge water added. To properly modify your water for the style, the total volume of wort in the boil kettle must be treated, not just the mash.