"Home Draft" Mini Kegerator

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dahoov

Reaction score
This project has been sort of an evolution. It actually started as a way for me to make a sweet sparkling cider for SWMBO. I picked up one of the Home Draft kegs and force carbonated my cider using a carbonator cap I made. I then was able to use the tap for serving.

I then decided it would be a good way to "Keg" and serve my beer. I have been bottling since 1994. I have never really had an issue bottling, so I never saw a reason to go to the expense kegging although I did pick up 4 pin lock cornies recently. I also have never really had enough extra space for a full sized refrigerator until we bought our new home last year.

Anyway, on to the details. I now have 4 of the Home Draft kegs. I did not want to modify the tap assembly because I wanted to be able to continue using the 16 gram CO2 cartridges. I decided to modify the CO2 cartridges by drilling and tapping with 1/4 NPT so I could put an air chuck into them. Teflon tape does not work as a seal since the cartridge wall is so thin so I used a 2 part 5 minute "Epoxy" when installing the connector into the cartridge.

P1010890.JPG

P1010891.JPG

P1010892.JPG

As a result of the size of the adaptor I had to enlarge the opening at the end of the plastic cartridge holder. I used a dermal but the same thing can be accomplished with a large enough drill bit. This allows me to continue using the 16 gram CO2 cartridge. Parties are much easier now that I don't have to worry about mixing sediment in bottles on the drive.

P1010894.JPG