beer mixes

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rflach1

Reaction score
i'm new to this hobby and just purchased a kit from the MR BEER website. it comes with the mix/yeast and every thing you need to make your first batch. my question is when i go to their site to see which one i want to try to make next, there are like hundred of different options, some have hops, beer mixes, booster, my question is what do i need to make a good beer and which ones of these combo's seems to make the best brew? i noticed almost all come with a beer mix and yeast and then some have hops and others have a "booster". is this booster just an artificial form of hops and kinda like cheating when making your own beer or is it a legit way to brew your own. i appreciate any help on sorting this subject matter out.

First, I'd like to say welcome to the wonderful world of homebrewing. :D

Second...throw away your Mr. Beer kit and all the ingredients...naw, just joshing ya.

I am fairly certain that if you are half way serious about brwing your own beer you will heed my last sentence. Jst joking, but half way serious. :drunk:

Anywho...you really need to read up on the basics of brewing. Just a little research on your part will do wonders for your understanding of the process.

It is very complicated, but once you understand what it is you do and why you do it it becomes simpler.

The questions you are asking are very basic and can be learned from Charlie Papazian's book, The Joy of Homebrewing.

To answer your questions could take all night. For your own sake please do some research.

Don't get me wrong, I am more than willing to help you and anyone else, but you have to do some research yourself.