Newbie with Questions.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

1911Man

Reaction score
So I am very excited to have found y’all. I am brand new to home brewing and I have all kinds of questions. My first batch, Arsenal Beer Works Double Barrel Brown Ale (I will post the label when it’s completed), is in its first fermentation and is starting to slow a touch after ~3 days, which I expected. I can not wait to see what it turns into. :)

Anyway, on to the questions.

- Why the transfer to a second carboy for a second fermentation? If you are not adding anything to the mix and just moving it, couldn’t you have completed it in your primary fermenter?

- My understanding is that the beer should “Clear” in the second fermenter. What does that mean, what is “clearing” out of the beer?

- In the recipe kit for this Nut Brown Ale I am working on, it says 5-7 days in the primary, 5-7 days in the secondary, and at least 2 weeks in the bottles. I’ve read here about the 1-2-3 rule. If I went with that, would the extra week in the secondary fermenter have any negative effect on the beers flavor, or should I just stick with the directions for my first time out?

I guess that's it for now, I am sure that I will come up with more questions. Thanks for the help and I will grab a cold one while I continue to wait.

The focculated yeast starts starving to death in the trub, so you either remove the trub or move the ale to a secondary. Clearing is just how it sounds, more yeast and some of the proteins fall out. And extra week won't hurt.

1911Man said:
- Why the transfer to a second carboy for a second fermentation? If you are not adding anything to the mix and just moving it, couldn’t you have completed it in your primary fermenter?