using tannin

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

motobrewer

I'm no atheist scientist, but...
Reaction score
I want to create a dry, english style cider. Unfortuatenly right now I'm stuck with store-bought juice.

I have some liquid tannin, would that help the process? what is the recommended dosage? 2-3-4-5 mL per 5 gallon?

Liquid tannin will definitely help achieve a more 'Englishy' feel to your cider. I personally use dry tannin to balance my ciders so no real help other than to say a little does a long way. You may also need to add some acid to keep things balanced.

thanks for the info. any idea where to start? 1mL per 5 gallons? 1 gallon per 5 gallons? I'm really at a loss here.

thanks for the info. any idea where to start? 1mL per 5 gallons? 1 gallon per 5 gallons? I'm really at a loss here.

I used powdered tannin, so I'm sure it's not the same amount. But to help give you an idea, I use like 1/4 teaspoon in a 5 gallon batch to start. It's really a very very small amount. You can always add more, but you can't take it out- so if you start with a little bit like 3ml you can't go wrong.

The way I add the powdered stuff is to add it. Then taste it in a few hours next day. If needed, I add 1/8 teaspoon more. Some apples have more acid and need more tannin, while others have far less. You don't want to add too much because too much is almost impossible to fix.

I don't know how the powdered tannin compares to the liquid though. I would only be able to guess that it's similar in strength.

thanks for the info Yooper. Yeah, maybe I should have grabbed the powdered, but I figured the liquid would be easier to handle and measure....

I'll start with the same amount, 1/4 teaspoon (1mL) and go from there.