Simple Porter Yea/Nay?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chairman Cheyco

***DRAMATIZATION***
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
4.5# 2-row
4.5# Vienna
0.75# Chocolate Malt
0.25# Black Patent
0.5# Crystal 20

**Thinking of adding ~2 oz of honey malt

Standard EKG/Fuggle porter hop profile 60/20/5 to about 40 IBU

I've never used that honey malt before, and I'm going for a toasty- honey' n' biscuit kinda vibe with the Vienna. How much honey malt do I need?

Oh, I also may toast some of the two-row as well.

Thoughts?

Keep those malts simple. On another note as far as the hops go....How about some Perle in the Kettle, Northern Brewer for a middle addtions, Centennial in the late addition, and knockout? 40 IBU's is going to make a fabulous beer!!!

I like the toasting idea. I did a brown ale recently with a couple pounds of home-roasted 2-row, plus a half pound of Victory, and it came out real nice. Almost, but not quite, porter-ey (I only used a half or 3/4# chocolate).

No idea on the honey malt. I'm thinking my next non-smoked porter will have a little Special B in there, though.

I've heard Perle is the most neutral of all the hops. I'll see if I can get some today. Pretty sure Centennial is out though. Centennial is fairly citrusy, is it not? I want to keep the hops in the background a bit on this one, as far as distinctive flavors go.

I think this sounds like a tasty brew. What mash temp are your thinking of using? Are you going for malty or dry? If malty and playing off the chocolate, maybe go with a darker crystal, like a 120L. If drier, then what you have layed out sounds great.

Chairman Cheyco said: