How hard is it to install a 220v outlet?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jdlev

Reaction score
I think the easiest thing to do would be to simply add it directly below my electric panel in the garage, and then run a 15ft 220 extension cord to my brew stand.

My question is..how easy is to add the 220 line and wire it. I'm a complete electric noob, so I don't know the first place to start. TIA for any advice!

If you are not familiar with the workings of your panel & electricity in general I'd hire an electrician. Death or lifetime disability isn't worth the cash saved IMO.

I recently did just what you want to do but I know enough not to kill myself and to pull the main breaker. Even with the main breaker pulled you can still fry yourself if you hit the incoming feed. If you spend the time to read and learn you could do it. I've also done electrical wiring over the years for small projects.

I figure I need to learn at some point..why not now? I was reading the sticky in this forum on the 110/120 being interchangeable with the 220/240? If that's the case, could I just swap out a wall outlet, and up the breaker that feeds that outlet to a 40 or 50 amp? I think the wiring is the standard white house cable, so not sure what the gauge is or how much it could handle?

it is not a complicated process, but here's a little something worth passing on.

I was totally prepared to do the work for my brewery outlet myself. The panel is in the garage, and I wanted an outlet just a couple feet from it. I bought the GFCI breaker, bought the receptacle, bought the romex wire, etc, etc.