Hey, I need halp deciding on a celebration beer.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm going to be starting technical school here on May 10th and it's gonna take 10.5 months to complete, and so I figured this is a perfect time to brew a nice delicious beer for my graduation party.

I love wit, but wit doesn't take that long to get ready, I also love a good stout, and those can take that long.

I looked around for different recipes. and found one that looks really interesting, http://hopville.com/recipe/120833/strong-scotch-ale-recipes/maplescotch I like maple syrup, and I like scotch ale, but I'm new at this so I'm not sure if I'd like that.

I know this is a real difficult question because I'm not giving you much in the way of what I like, so I guess I just want something with a complex flavor that will take a while to settle out, and something that will be very drinkable.

I prefer malty over bitter.

I looked it up, and an English barley wine does sound pretty good, I'm gonna run up to grape and gourmet later and get a couple bottles.

Also, I forgot to mention this, but I'm only capable of partial mash brewing. But the local home brew store can do all grain to partial mash conversions.

Belgian Strong Ale, maybe with a little anise for flavor. Barleywine is a great idea. Definitely English like you said if you prefer more malty over more bitter or hoppy.

Good luck in school

I say Belgian double or dark strong, both of these will begin to blossom as your training closes. If you go barelywine definitely go English over American but there is still a decent hop presence in both.

Oh, if you have lagering capabilities I’d say doppelbock. That’ll give you the nice malty base you said you like.