Are my taste buds dead?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Selfsufficient

Reaction score
Alright, I'm very new to this and maybe this should be in drunken ramblings, however, has anyone out there purchased BB kits and thought that Irish Red and American Amber taste damn near the same? Are my taste buds gone? I don't taste the malt as much in the Irish, however, I was over hopping. I do full boils and the kit didn't tell me to cut the hops. You guys did. I cut the pellets back for the American Amber.........still the same taste, just a little less hoppy but I like hops. And, for the scientist, I came very close to OG and FG, within a few points of the kit recommendations. Lucky I guess. I have my last BB kit, English Brown Ale in the primary, looks like the rest with a "seriously" slight variation in ingredients so I figure it will be like the last 3.

I will say that the 4 kits I purchased were extremely predictable and made excellent beer.

Come on, I need a challenge. I bought 3 kits from Midwest, be here tomorrow and I'm hoping this changes my opinion on kits. They seem to have more comprehensive ingredients and a different alcohol profile so I hope that makes the difference.

I purchased:

250 $24.95 1 Irish Red Ale w/ Munton's 6 gm dry yeast
270 $28.95 1 Honey Amber Ale w/ Munton's 6 gm dry yeast
870 $28.95 1 Lemon Coriander Weiss w/ Danstar Munich dry yeast

Tell me at least that I made some good choices and I will not continue to drink the same beer time after time. Difference between BB Irish and American Amber was hop amounts. I want different flavor, not different labels? :mug: