Brand new brewer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

debkid

Reaction score
HI,
I just started brewing. A friend gave my husband a Mr Beer for Christmas.. and I commandeered it.. last week I started the kit that came with it with but dry hopped with 1/2 oz of cascade pellets.. Today transferred it to 4 2 liter bottles... and.. started a 3 gallon batch of Apple/Cherry Cider for myself (I don't care for beer). and.. a 5 gallon batch of IPA for hubby. I started with a Cooper IPA kit and added 1 oz Columbus hops (45 min) & 1/2 oz Cascade (5 min).
Not sure how bitter this will be.. but Hubby is a hop head!

So far the cider is bubbling away nicely.. but the IPA is foaming out of the airlock.. Guess I need to leave more head space next time...

Welcome to the forum debkid.

.. but the IPA is foaming out of the airlock.. Guess I need to leave more head space next time...

You could fit a blow-off tube (large tube fitted to top of carboy that runs into a bucket of sanitized solution). This illustration is from Palmer's online book (http://realbeer.com/jjpalmer/Howtobrew.html)

bucketcarboy.gif

Anyway, have fun, and enjoy the beer and cider.

BB

Good to have you onboard. There are a couple of ciderheads and meadfreaks here. I'm mainly into dark ales myself, but there is always a keg or two of cider around. I have a blackberry/apple in the keg and a spiced apple on the counter popping away.

Can't go wrong with extra Cascades. Whole hops work better for dry hopping, but use what you've got. I found a deal on columbus pellets earlier in the year and purchased two pounds, so everything is getting bittered with it.

debkid said:
HI,