Too Sweet Pinot Noir

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ciaodebc

Reaction score
I am new to wine making and this is my third wine, a Pinot Noir from a kit, but it is way too sweet. I followed the directions given. I unfortunately put in the Kieselsol and Chitosan thinking the wine was ok to finish. When I took the final SG it was 1.104. The starting SG was 1.139. Is there anything I can do to fix it? Also, if I figured the alcohol correctly, it is only 3%. The alcohol started at 18% and ended at 15%, which if I figured it correctly leaves only 3%. Thanks for any help you can give.

I am new to wine making and this is my third wine, a Pinot Noir from a kit, but it is way too sweet. I followed the directions given. I unfortunately put in the Kieselsol and Chitosan thinking the wine was ok to finish. When I took the final SG it was 1.104. The starting SG was 1.139. Is there anything I can do to fix it? Also, if I figured the alcohol correctly, it is only 3%. The alcohol started at 18% and ended at 15%, which if I figured it correctly leaves only 3%. Thanks for any help you can give.

I don't think your readings are correct. That kit should start at about 1.100 and finish at .990 or so. I assume you added water, up to 6 gallons at the beginning? And then it fermented for a week? When you checked the SG when racking the wine the first time at about week 2, what was the SG then?

There isn't any possibly way that wine is at 1.104 now- it shouldn't have even started that high! When you take a sample, I assume you fill a hydrometer test jar, and gently drop the hydrometer in so that it doesn't touch the sides? I'd check another reading right away and let us know what it is!