Small batch brewing......

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brew

Reaction score
I've been brewing for about a year and I want to try some different beers, cider and sours.....basically some things I've never tried or tasted before....... since I am unsure how well I will like some of these things I want to be able to do small or 1/2 batches so I do not end up with 50 bottle of something that is "not good".............obviously I can cut all the 5 gallon recipes in half to do a smaller batches but what do I use to ferment in? Can I use my regular bucket or will the additonal air space cause problems? Do I need to pick up a 3 gallon better bottle? I assume I need to also use 1/2 the yeast or is ok to use the full amount? Just looking for some ideas......thanks in advance!

I half a half batch bucket - Originally contained cake icing. Got it free at walmart. Think it holds 5 gallons. I bought a black grommet for fifty cents at the brew store, drilled a 5/8" hole in the top of the lid, installed the grommet and boom! half batch bucket :) I know others find 3 gallon PET water bottles, but my local stores only have the ones with the recycle number 7 :(

Yeast, depends on the brew, but generally a full pack will not hurt, and in some cases it may be the right amount of yeast to pitch!

There is a ton of small batch threads on here, including those in the similar thread box below.

You can brew any sized batch you want. I do a lot of 2.5 gallon recipe test batches. You can even do 1 gallon AG brews. The basic brewing guys call that the six pack brew.

A recipe is scalable, so a 1 gallon recipe is 1/5th of a 5 gallon one....a 2.5 gallon one is half the ingredients.

2.5 gallons is one case of beer.