Looking for some advice

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KeyWestBrewing

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hey im new to all this and was looking for some advice on if my recipe sounds reasonable, and or what ways i can tweak it to produce something i can at least drink if im way off mark.

Im hoping to make what Id like to think would be a abv Brown Ale. Im only making a 5 gallon batch for the first go. Using a mix of 4lb Carastan malt, 4 lb golden promise, 1 lb chocolate, and 1 lb dingemans special b for my mash using about 3.25 gal of water.

Then continuosly hopping after the hot break for 90 min with a blend of northern brewer hops, us goldings , and brewers gold. With irish moss, candi sugar, and sugar additions.

Debating whether to use wyeast 1272 slap pack and make a starter or safale us 05 dry yeast. What are the pros and cons with each?

Also considering transferring into 2ndary with fruits or spices?

im not sure what to look for when i take my gravity readings other than what they are.

*ANY ADVICE IS APPRECIATED!!!***

By my calculations you should be at about 1.044 SG (about 4.5%ABV) which is perfect for a northern English brown. Your color will be way dark (don't know if you care).

The big question is the hops: I don't know what you mean by continuous hopping, but a brown ale is about 20 to 30 IBUs. One oz of EK Golding at 60 and one at 30 should do ya. I would avoid the US hops as this is an English beer.

Same goes for yeast: 1272 and US-05 are American strains. Consider using 1968 or US-04 (or, if you want slightly sweeter 1728) Starters are always better, if you have the equipment for it. But re-hydrated dry yeast will do a fine job.