Newbie here - Yeast question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chrros7

Reaction score
Hello all, boy am I thirsty!!!

I just started with the Mr Beer Kit (I know, I know). I think it'll suffice for my needs for the first 3 or 4 batched anyway. My question is about the yeast that comes included with the HME's. I've heard that they are of low quality. So, how can I tell if the yeast is 'bad'? or what are the benefits of using a 'good or better' yeast? I assume it is a matter of the taste of the brew, but is it going to drastically effect the entire brewing process (i.e....fermenting, alcohol content, carbonation, etc)?

Thanks for any advice or suggestions.

(also, I may be asking a LOT of questions as I get started here so I apologize in advance)

Take the yeast, rehydrate it and give it some sugar to chew on. Within 30 min you can tell if it is viable.

I typically will mix some water and DME or LME, and boil. Let cool to 105 degrees or less and toss in your yeast. If you see any action, bubbles, foam etc. pitch it.

So think about the yeast you choose making the beer. This is like hiring a contractor to do house work, do you want someone who doesn't know how to cut wood at 90 degree angles to build a deck and then steals your money.... Basically the yeast is the most important thing you do to get beer, the type of yeast defines the style and almost every single aspect (body, head, taste, flavor profile, alcohol level... etc).