Loose keg lid drained my CO2 tank!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bernerbrau

Reaction score
2 weeks ago I set pressure at 10 PSI on 2 freshly kegged batches. Come back and they're both at 20. I pour one and it's all foam. Overcarbed.

So I go to bleed the kegs down and reduce pressure on the regulators, and when I do there's a rush of air I can feel and hear through one of the keg lids. Suddenly I notice one of my kegs is down at 0 on the gauge.

I've never used this keg before, but basically, the lever on the lid is not tight. I noticed it when I was kegging but I thought I had gotten a good seal. I replaced the o-ring and covered the thing in half a container of lube. I even did the Star San test with it under pressure and got no bubbles.

With the other two kegs, when I close the lever, it goes down tight and pulls on the lid to seal it better. With this one, the lever is extremely loose and there's only any resistance when I'm closing it but not when it's closed. I can push on the lid and it will tilt slightly. When trying to bleed the other kegs, I can tell there's a good seal because even without CO2 applied I get a small hiss when I wait a few minutes and bleed. With this one, no matter how long I wait, there's no hiss when I pull the pressure release valve. So the lid is not tight enough to prevent a build up of CO2 from escaping.

I also think the welding shop may have screwed me, because the guy there exchanged my tank instead of filling it, and the moment I hooked up the tank after getting it back, the tank gauge was in the "order gas" zone. I have only used this tank on one other keg, and have not been dispensing beer regularly since I hooked it up.