contaminated by dry hopping?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

faithie999

Reaction score
i've been brewing for several years but don't have too much experience with dry hopping.
i made my second batch of dogfish head 60 minute a few weeks ago (the first batch was outstanding!). almost 2 weeks ago (after 2 weeks in primary), i racked to secondary and dry hopped using a muslin bag, as i have done in the past. the hops were relatively fresh--i had ordered them for this batch a couple of weeks before brewing.
after a few days, the hop bag (i had weighted it with a large, sanitized stainless steel eye bolt as i had done before) floated to the top, and there was a shallow surface layer of foam. fermentation had restarted--about a bubble a minute--and almost 2 weeks later i'm still getting a bubble every couple of minutes.
obviously there were still some fermentables left after primary, and i have seen fermentation in secondary plenty of times, but never have seen it lasting almost two weeks with a scum on the top (looks more like scum than yeast foam).
any suggestions? i suppose i will keg it and see how it tastes.
TIA
ken

Did you sanitize the hop bag? I always boil mine first. I had an infection on a beer about a year ago and I kegged it and forgot about it for 6 months. When I finally got around to trying it and it was great. Some of my friends even asked me to make it again! (I couldn't even if I wanted to). Anyway, I would keg and try it. If you don't like it, try leaving it for a while and trying it again later. You might be surprised.