How to properly age hops

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Edcculus

Reaction score
From the discussion in the "aged hop donation" thread, I decided to start this. I have no experience in this, so those who know please chime in.

Here is what I have gathered from reading and the other thread:

According to Jeff Sparrow (author of Wild Brews), cheesy hops are in fact NOT good for lambic or wild brews.

While using a low AA% hop will work, we are all about replicating they style, so lets keep this on how to properly age them, not about if you really need them.

Lambic breweries just leave them in their attic for 3 years...

I'm interested in this as well. I have some older hops I've stored in freezer vacuum packed that I wouldn't mind trying to start aging.

I suspect for ideal aging they need to be exposed to oxygen, so maybe putting them in a paper bag and tossing them around regularly

I've got some old window screens I used to dry out my homegrown hops. I wonder if spreading them out on one and leaving it in the rafters of my garage for a while would be ideal.

I really need to pick up Wild Brews sometime. I think I've got an amazon gift card sitting around somewhere

Edit: Did some googling and found some info
http://belgianstyle.com/mmguide/brew/hops.html
I asked an instructor from the American Brewers Guild about aging hops once during a weekend Brewing Science for the Advanced Homebrewer seminar. Although planning ahead is always a good idea, three years ahead is pretty challenging. He told me very confidently that sticking them in a 150 degree oven for 1 hour would do the same thing years of aging would. The book USING HOPS by Mark Garetz from HOPTECH suggests this process might take closer to 12 hours - but it still beats 3 years!