Sanitizing a carboy

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

billpa

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Just curious...Do I have to fill the whole thing up with sanitizing solution or can I put about 2 gallons in and rock the solution in the carboy? Im using Star San. On a side note, who here recycles their sanitizing solution and what do they keep it in?

Thanks in advance,
Bill

I put about 1-2 gallons of water into the carboy, 1 tablespoon of B-Brite, and swish it around real good with a wad of paper towel over the opening. Then I rinse it the same way. Never had any problems. Then again, I've only done it 4 times. :)

Hi.
I started brewing back in January but i've just used about a gallon or so of no rinse solution and shook the carboy (and bucket for that matter) up like crazy as much as possible a few times before racking into it.

When not brewing I've used a scoop of Oxy-Clean and filled with hot water and let it sit overnight and then warm/hot water rinse numerous times before letting it dry.

I don't recycle much sanitizer but for the small parts and hose I've cut the top 1/4 off of a 1-gallon plastic water jug and that can go a long way on brew day. Picked up that tip somewhere on this very board. So much good info here.

Nothing but clean batches so far.

I've been using a gallon of Iodophor for sanitizing my carboys (BB's). I just leave it at various orientations, so all surfaces are in contact for a few minutes.

I've been using Starsan in the water in the tub I place my carboys in for temperature control. (Blowoff container overflows get messy.) I'll re-use that several times. I've just let it sit out uncovered. Nothing grows in it.