First brew kettle?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bass2187

Reaction score
I was wondering if someone could recommend a brew kettle for a first time brewer. Hopefully something that doesnt require me ordering online and paying extra shipping. Keep in mind that I am a college student without a job at the moment....

Thanks,
Mike

In what context have you heard they are bad? Most people start out doing partial boils, which works just fine for figuring out if homebrewing is for you. Even a 5 gallon pot could accommodate a large boil.

Check out Austin Homebrew Supply
....they have a 30QT for 159 bucks right now that's $40 off, and Flat Rate shipping to boot. Other than that, check out Wally World and the other local Big Box stores for a get ya by.

I am also getting ready to buy a kettle. I checked the AHS site and could not find that price. Is that for the Eurotanks Brew Pot? That is a great price how do I get it?

I'd go the turkey fryer route. Thanksgiving is coming up, so soon they will be dirt cheap everywhere. Mine was $29.99, it's hard to beat a pot + burner for that kind of scratch.

The cheap aluminum pot worked great for a dozen or more batches, and now has become my HLT. I'm still using the burner.

This is what I have and I've nearly outgrown it (boiling 7.5 gal in it gets kinda hairy right before the hot break). I'll upgrade to a 10+ gal kettle soon or a keggle.

If you are just going to be doing partial boils, then 20 qt is big enough. You can get these pretty cheap on the internet or Ebay. I got mine at Target on sale for $28.99 a while back.